Questions and Answers with Robert Parker

Back in early November, RMP did a Q&A session with the Napa vintners. I finally got around to commenting and posting my notes on our blog but am reposting here.

He’s been called the “Emperor of Wine” not because of the vast viticultural kingdom he rules, but because of the vast influence he holds over the wine industry and the wine buying public. With the stroke of his pen, he can either play king maker and anoint the next big thing in wine or he can doom a brand to failure – or at least to obscurity. That’s a bit of hyperbole, but it is true that the words of Robert M. Parker, Jr. help move the wine world.

I have zero personal experience with Robert Parker. All I knew of him were from reading his books and the Wine Advocate, his monthly newsletter of wine reviews. Second hand, I’d heard that he was pleasant and gracious in person. Professionally, I knew that – at least recently – his company had been tone-deaf in the area of customer service, displaying a George Bush level of blind loyalty to some staff members who, quite frankly, should have been removed from his publication and website. While few readers questioned Mr. Parker’s ethics, a couple of his tasters/staff members stepped in it big-time and to question the questionable invited censure or banning from the then public forum on eRobertParker.com. Since that time, the forum has been made subscription only. With the bannings of dissenters – admittedly perhaps one or two who were rabble-rousers – and the new pay-to-play policy, all is happy in that online kingdom, though quite a bit quieter when it comes to intelligent wine discussion.