La Tache gone bad

Tasting notes, varietals, grapes - anything related to wine
Rebecca J

La Tache gone bad

#1 Post by Rebecca J » September 26th, 2017, 4:47 pm

Hello. I am new to wine and inherited a large collection from an Uncle. I know he stored these carefully, but wonder if these bottles of La Tache are too far gone. I am no expert on wine and have limited storage room. If they are not worth keeping, I could use the space for different bottles. Thank you for your thoughts. I am trying to add pictures, but cannot figure out how to do that. They are both 1991 and the fill is to the neck. I will add pictures as soon as I can. Thank again.
Jaffe

Victor Hong

La Tache gone bad

#2 Post by Victor Hong » September 26th, 2017, 4:59 pm

They may be quite good, if stored well during those years. Neck fills are hard to visualize, as Burgundy bottles tend not to have the same shoulders as Bordeaux bottles do.

Please accept my condolences for your uncle. Too bad that he did not drink them.
WineHunter.

ky1em!ttskus
GCC Member
GCC Member

La Tache gone bad

#3 Post by ky1em!ttskus » September 26th, 2017, 5:04 pm

Don't throw them away. They are worth $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.

Marcus Dean

La Tache gone bad

#4 Post by Marcus Dean » September 26th, 2017, 5:11 pm

Sorry for your loss,
open a bottle, make sure you use appropriate glassware, the wine may take a little while to wake up in your glass, but if it isnt faulty (corked etc) it will be a great wine.
on the flipside those bottles are quite valuable.

Peter Hirsch
GCC Member
GCC Member

La Tache gone bad

#5 Post by Peter Hirsch » September 26th, 2017, 5:12 pm

$4k per bottle at most recent auction offered side price.

Rebecca J

La Tache gone bad

#6 Post by Rebecca J » September 26th, 2017, 5:19 pm