The Taittinger Comtes Thread

IMHO, Taittinger Champagne Brut Blanc de Blancs Comtes deserves its own thread. I wish I could say I’m an expert, but I’m merely a smitten admirer who discovered the wine with the 2004 vintage. I can’t speak to older vintages, but hope to see this thread backfilled by others. The 2004 and 2005 hooked me, then the 2006 blew me away.

Here are some of the essentials of this tête de cuvée:

First made in 1952

The bottle is a reproduction of an 18th century bottle design

Grand Cru Chardonnay mostly from Avize, Le Mesnil-sur-Oger and Oger, and some Chouilly and Cramant; only first run juice.

Since the late '80s, about 5% is aged in oak barrels for a few months

Undergoes malolactic fermentation

Dosage is usually 9g/l

Aged in Reims for a minimum of eight years

Production is less than 25,000 cases each vintage

The current release is 2006, which hit the market in late 2015. I’ve read a lot of posts of people passing on the '06 to wait for the '08, which I think is a mistake. The next release will be the 2007, possibly late this year. The will be little of the 2007 released, due to an early harvest in a hot vintage.

The earliest we’ll see the 2008 is late 2019. After that, we’ll have to wait for the 2012, as there will be no Comte produced from the 2009, 2010, or 2011 vintages.

My latest TN on the 2006: Gorgeous and complex nose and palate; Lemon cream, flowers and orchard fruit, but I think it’s the texture and mouthfeel that bring me back so often. Balanced, dense, yet very lithe.

Cheers!

Warren

Some very knowledgeable people were weighing in on this recent thread:

2 different batches of 06` Taittinger Comtes de Champagne?
January 6th 2018
2 different batches of 06` Taittinger Comtes de Champagne? - WINE TALK - WineBerserkers

Count me as a fan of the 2006. Interesting that they would pass on 2009. Lots of tete de cuvées being made with 2009.