Advice for 1978 Rinaldi Barbaresco or Poggio Brunnello

I am in the market for a 1978 Barolo or Brunello as a birth year present, and Chambers in NY has two possible options (a Barbaresco and a Brunello). I have limited experience purchasing such old bottles, and would be appreciative for any thoughts on these two bottles. I can purchase/gift neither, either or both of them. Chambers vouches for the fills/capsule/label quality, but claims they have not tasted them. CT has no tasting notes either. Am trying to get more information from Chambers, but as of now all I have is the listing information. Any advice from folks here on these bottles would be appreciated!

https://www.chambersstwines.com/Products/10457/1978-rinaldi-francesco-barbaresco
1978 Poggio alle Mura Brunello di Montalcino
1978 Francesco Rinaldi Barbaresco

i dont have any insight into the particular bottles, but:
chambers is normally really good at being responsive to questions about bottles or requests for more photos if needed. i have yet to ask about specific providence for a bottle from them via email yet, but the 1970 Produttori I got from them was in great condition and arrived safe and sound.

1978 seems to be a stronger year in Piedmont than in Tuscany, if you believe vintage charts. I’ve not had either wine.

Haven’t had either one, but on average a well-kept Barbaresco has no problems surviving 40 years, but I’ve found many (fortunately not all) Brunellos starting to fall apart after 20.

If I had to pick one where the other is Brunello and the other’s a Nebbiolo, I’d always go for the latter one.

nebbiolo > sangiovese, ceteris paribus.

Tom Gutting has a current note on the front page of wine talk on what sounds like a stellar showing for '78 Aldo Conterno. If you need another data point to lean you nebbiolo.

+1

And 1978 was an excellent year for Barolo/Barbaresco.

It was a GREAT bottle, and I leaned on this purchase based on the reputation for Nebbiolo in 1978. It did not disappoint.