TNs: 2012 and 2013 Felsina CCR Rancia

I’ve been buying Felsinas since the early 1990s and have had most vintages. This is the first taste of the 2012. I’ve had the 2013 a few times.

2012 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva Rancia
Chianti rarely hits you over the head with great aromatics and this is no exception. You kind of have to hunt for it – but, it’s there. Black cherry, a black walnut note I associate with (gasp) Latour, something floral and lightly herbal in the distant background. Like biting into the most perfectly sweet crunchy black cherry. Very fresh with nice tannic grip. Love the balance. Really nice wine.

2013 Felsina Chianti Classico Riserva Rancia
A bit more of everything here. Despite some very light VA, the nose is pretty shy here. Some of the same black walnut and some roasted plums mixed in with the cherry fruit. The fruit is a notably riper. Quite a wall of tannins here. Acidity keeps it fresh. Juicy wine. More powerful and a bit less elegant than the 2012. Again, very long finish.

Very interesting to taste these side by side. I like them both a lot for different reasons.

Just had an amazing 10 with some steak…drank VERY Bordeaux-esk…and yes, Latour came to mind! Inspired me to reload on some 15.

Wow, I’m surprised these young Rancias are showing so well. I’m drinking my 95’s and 99’s. The last '06 I opened was tough as nails, but it’s been a couple of years. I haven’t opened anything more recent, but I’m encouraged you enjoyed these so young.

Cheers,
Warren