TN: 2006 R. López de Heredia Rioja Reserva Viña Tondonia

This wine surprised me by how much I like it. In theory, I should be a big fan of old world Rioja. The problem, however, is that I am not a fan, generally speaking, of American oak. And lots of Riojas showcase that American oak range of notes that I just do not like. On this wine, it works, but granted, the oak presence is really rather subdued. I know Tondonia has a larger amount of used oak, but I do not know the breakdown for this vintage.

At $35 or so, this is a silly value.

A really pretty nose of dried red fruits, tobacco, dried herbs and a hint of citrus. The citrusy notes become more pronounced on the palate, giving this wine a zesty feel to it. Fresh, medium in body, but more so because of the depth and texture to the materials rather than the actual weight. Dusty earthy, cocoa powder, herbs. Sweet, tangy finish with just a touch of chewiness. I have limited experience with this winery, but I think this wine will hit a sweet-spot in 2-3 years and really shine for quite some time.

A lovely, elegant wine. If you enjoy old world claret, try this wine.

(92 pts.)

Both this and the 2005 are silly good wines.

The American Oak never quite fades. Did a tasting of 1964-1980 Imperial vs Viña Real and it sticks out like a sore thumb even in the 64 and 66. Monte Bello is the same way. St least I like it as it mellows.

Robert,

Welcome to the dark side…

Come up to the PacNW for a tri. We’ll pop a few of their Gran Reservas. You’ll forget all about that Bordeaux stuff. :sunglasses:

The 2006 is just a baby at this point.

I’m not surprised. You like Ridge as well, and they use Am-oak as well. Like they say, it’s not the size of the barrel that matters, it’s how you use it. [cheers.gif]