Kathryn Kennedy: Where have you been all my life ?

I have been drinking California Cabs for around 25 years and have tried many standard bearers from various regions. However I had never tried a Kathryn Kennedy Cab before although I had heard great things. Recently helping a friend sell a collection I procured 2 bottles of the 2001

I brought a bottle with me to the Old Pink House in Savannah on Tuesday night for a modest corkage fee. Food and service were quite good Had the half crispy duck.

We brought the 01 KK, a 14 Fourier Vougeout and a Filaine DMY Champagne. They were all quite enjoyable but the star of the show was the Kathrryn Kennedy. As soon as I smelled the nose I knew I was in for a treat. Fairly dark purple in color. In the old school camp definitely plenty of fruit cherry and chocolate and other flavors I cant recall but perfect balance and a lingering finish. We did pop and pour and it needed no air to flourish although it got slightly better as the night progressed. Fully mature yet still has plenty of life left. On the 2nd day a remaining glass was still almost perfect It was one of the best old school cabs I have had recently. Up there very close to its SCM neighbors Ridge MB. To my palate I would give the wine a 94+ score and I dont hand out high scores like candy

Any others tried the 01 or fans of this winery, and are they still made in the same mold now that Kathryns son Marty is at the Helm ?
20190911_112437.jpg

Thanks for the note! I am not really a cal cab guy, but I’ve never even heard of this producer. I’ll sit back and see what the folks in the know say.

Great note - I, too, have never heard of KK…I am interested to see what the people say. After reading your note I might have to snag a few bottles and see what it’s all about for myself.

New releases not cheap, around $200+. I do not think she’s the winemaker now.

Kathryn Kennedy passed away in 2009. :frowning:

So I was right, yes?

:wink: