Tasting visits...trifling questions.

Questions regarding tasting visits:

1. If you go to a place you already like, are on their mailing list, or have made an appointment to visit, do you ever take an older wine made by that winery to share during your visit?

2. My wife and I like to do that, but at some places, our cellar is not exactly deep enough to manage that feat. Would you ever bring a pleasurable wine to share that is from a different winery? This is purely hypothetical, but I was thinking about what would someone bring to a visit at one of the newer wineries where we wouldn’t have a mature wine to bring that was produced there. If you were going to visit MacDonald winery, would you take a mature Mondavi To-Kalon? If you went to visit Roy Piper, would you take as old a Houyi or Moulds vineyard wine that you could find? We like “honoring the host,” but some places we wouldn’t be well equipped enough to do that.

I am not experienced in this, but I would go at it another way. I would bring something the vineyard doesn’t produce. Maybe a champagne to someone poring Cabs, or an old Riesling to a Pinot or Syrah focused place. I would avoid direct comparisons.

I would probably not share, but then I don’t normally (ever?) taste with an owner or wine maker either. I’m curious, when you share, do you still get charged for the tasting fee? Cheers!

For places where we are members, we don’t usually get charged as part of the list benefits. (Small groups: just my wife and I, or maybe 4 total people.)