Ridge Estate Merlot out of balance?

Hello everyone! I am new to the wine world and I had some questions. I joined the Ridge Monte Bello futures program this year after hearing many good things about Ridge and trying the Estate Cabernet as well as Monte Bello. I was excited to get the estate wines this year and given that everyone is in quarantine, I starting popping them. The estate chardonnay was wonderful and I was very pleased with it.

However when I tried the Merlot(2017) this past week, it had some really good characteristics like great concentrated fruit, but it was really really acidic, to the point of being out of balance and almost sour. So on to my question, did I open this bottle too early? Would the acid mellow out with time?

Thank you for any insights.

Idk , but 2017 presented some challenges in Napa/Sonoma (weather and fires) so perhaps that has some influence on this wine.

As an anecdotal observation, I see people ‘new’ to wine or that just are not experienced used the term “sour” most frequently. Most times it’s when they encounter more classically made wines that are higher in acid than they are used to drinking. Ridge could be a candidate for that in many cases as they are by and large a house that makes wines in a more classic tradition.

That being said, I have not tried the wine in question. It would just be a shock for me to find a California Merlot to be sour.

As someone new I would recommend tasting far and wide. And not only single bottles at a time. I think you’ll find over time that that acidity is something to be enjoyed rather than being something that bothers you.

My hunch is that it’s way too young right now - I’ve had the estate cab upon delivery a couple of times and it’s usually unbalanced and tart to my taste – until day #2. Did the merlot get a chance to last that long?