Best Syrah Producer on West Coast

Hello All! I am very new to WB and trying to get my bearings around here. Just a quick question:

In your opinion who is the foremost producer of Syrah on the west coast that is making wines like the Northern Rhone? I am getting into Syrah more and more and looking for something to buy year after year in order to really drill down on the varietal. I love the Northern Rhone stuff, but it is difficult to always find and/or afford.

Would love to find some producers that are secrets among all of you. Thanks in advance!

If you are wondering what I typically drink, I live in the foothills and so have quite a bit of ZIN. I am a wine club member at 4 wineries. Ridge Vineyards, Andrew Will, Newsome-Harlow, and Sobon/Shenandoah Vineyards. I would say that 1/2 the wine I drink is from those 4 producers. I love the Ridge Syrahs and want to get into more stuff like it. I buy crozes-hermitage, st. joseph, and cote-rotie when I find deals. Thanks again!

Oh my, that’s an easy one, at least for my Franco-inspired yak palate:

https://www.halconvineyards.com/

Excellent, higher elevation vineyard, and simple winemaking practices (i.e., not heavy-handed). I’m a Northern Rhone fanatic, and this is one of the few new world syrahs that I buy.

Welcome to the boards!

there’s a lot of really great options out there. Arnot Roberts does a great job, Pax and Wind Gap do really well. Piedrasassi makes some tasty ones. Enfield does well with just about every variety they make. Morgon and Chris at Bedrock do a great job, but I’m not sure I would say they’re exactly N Rhone style like some of the others are, but definitely leans that way when compared to shiraz

Agreed. Can’t think of a more rhone like California Syrah.

I also really enjoy Arcadian, Edmunds St Johns and the now-defunct Harrington Wines - McEvoy Ranch Syrah

Sean