How good is Chevillon?

I had a bottle of the 2009 Robert Chevillon Les Vaucrains the other night and it really blew me away. Just amazing, in a stealth kind of way – extremely drinkable, incredibly smooth but at the same time deceptively complex and multilayered with all kinds of spices. The kind of bottle where you are really torn between rushing to your next sip and lingering over it, and the bottle disappears too quickly. One of those wines that is just irresistible and kind of at another level.

This wasn’t my first Chevillon and I’ve always enjoyed them, can’t remember ever having a bad one actually, but this one just stopped me dead (it was my first Vaucrains for whatever that’s worth, previous bottles have been the Vielles Vignes and I think some Roncieres). I am not experienced with the very top end Burgundies but this was better than most Grand Cru I have had. I mean, to be honest it was pretty high up there among all the wines I’ve ever had in my life.

Chevillon used to be a quite affordable wine, and I am happy to have some stashed away, but looking now I see that prices seem to have escalated rather significantly. It is still below the $200 line but no longer the “middle class” Burgundy I remember it as being (although I guess that entire market category is pretty much vanishing). It doesn’t seem to be as famous as some of the more celebrated producers, but what are the views of our Burgundy experts? Is Chevillon one of the top producers in Burgundy? Or did I just hit a lucky bottle?

I used to think Chevillon was a producer that had to be aged awhile, but the recent vintages i’ve had of them have been delicious!

Arguably the best producer from NSG. I have found most of Chevillon’s top crus (except LSJ) from good vintages for 100-130 recently. I’ve drank a lot of 16 NSG VV lately which has been delicious.

1 Like

really, really good.