When is a Wine Worth Too Much to Drink?

I’ve been buying and drinking wine for over 30 years now, and while everything I’ve purchased over the years has been acquired with the intention of drinking it at some point, I find I have a few bottles that are worth far more now than I ever imagined. I’ve always thought that the value of a particular wine is what I paid for it, and have never felt bad about drinking them (or sharing them with others) if they’ve appreciated in a normal way.

But what about those wines that appreciated due to rarity and are now commanding $500-1000 per bottle? I’ve always been very middle class, so while I’ve spent a good sum on wine over the years, it’s been more about building a fun, interesting cellar, but with affordable (mostly $20-$75 bottle cost) wines that I enjoy. I just happened to pick up a few things along the way that have gone insane recently ('99 Verset Cornas, as an example), and I’m thinking about selling a few of these gems.

I know I will really love the wines when I open them…but is the enjoyment of a case of wine worth the current price? I could sell a mixed case of various items that originally cost under $500 and pay for a trip to Italy for my wife and I. But I also know that I will never be able to drink or afford these wines again unless I open the ones I own. Obviously this is a very personal issue, I just wonder how others deal with it and if there is a point in people’s minds where they think “I can’t afford not to sell this.”

I would have no problem selling at least some of the wines, so you perhaps enjoy a few (or perhaps wonder - should I have sold this?) but largely get that trip to Italy that maybe would be more worthwhile. There’s always more wine.

Verset sold the wine, take his lead.