Penultimate (Harlan...Promontory)

Just got a rather schmaltzy mailer akin to the letter I received from Promontory saying I was still not on their list. This letter though, was an offering for what appears to be another Harlan bottling called PENULTIMATE. Perhaps declassified Promontory? Says for its inaugural release, they will be offering a three-bottle vertical of their early vintages come next week.

Anyone else heard of this project or received the mailer? My guess is $300 a bottle.

Received the mailer. Heard it’s a second wine coming from Promontory’s younger vines. First vintage was in 2012, but unreleased. Price point at $325, I believe.

At that price, you can’t afford not to buy it. It’s like having an uncle in the wine business!

Just got the mailer today. Interested. if below $350 per bottle, with those vines even if younger, I feel like it’s intriguing enough for me to buy…

Haven’t seen my mailer yet. Interesting though. I’m not experienced enough to know the difference between younger/older vines, just that I like older vine juice and that no one really advertises younger vine wine… May just stick with my Promontory allocations unless there’s a compelling reason to jump on this.

Who is purchasing this “second wine” for over $300? At that price you could have almost any Napa wine (I mean, Shafer Hillside Select with a decades long track record is at that same price).

I’m sure people buying this are in the money is no object group and this is probably a candidate for a Tuesday night wine for them, but for the regular folk I just don’t get it.

2 Likes

f it’s 90% as good as Promontory I may try one, but if its a far cry from it, I definitely would pass.

I’m gonna buy - should be great. So is the Mascot a “third” wine now?

1 Like

Mascot was always a third wine. Bond and Harlan have their own second wines.

1 Like