Authenticity of Petrus Bottles

Dear All,

I am new to the forum but I have read and benefited a lot from the posts and chains here!

I am hoping to get your opinions on the authenticity of 3 bottles of Petrus from 1989, 1994 and 2000 which have been offered to me from a private cellar. The pictures are included below.

Your comments will be greatly appreciated! Merry Christmas All!

I am not an expert, but I don’t think Petrus started using cellophane until 2002

I see nothing.

Oh no, let me try to upload the pictures again later. They seem to be blocked.

Thanks for your time thus far!

Just re-uploaded the pictures again! It should be working fine now. Thanks!

unless they are really cheap, hard pass. First bottle looks like water damage. This ain’t from the 1940s. Why wrap cellophane around the other labels? Unless you may be trying to disguise some defect?

My guess is that the cellophane is simply in an effort to keep the already disintegrating labels somewhat intact. How well do you know the seller, and are you paying a premium for these?

Thanks Gents. Apparently these were auction bottles from Hong Kong in the late 2000s. Cellophane is meant to protect the labels from (further) damage.

I do not know the seller well and is paying a discount actually. Based on what I have read online, the labels seem to stack up against their vintages.

I see this a lot in Asia, particularly for high-end bottles where the collector/seller is trying to keep the label pristine

It’s pretty common, particularly if the label is already frayed. I’ve bought cellophane-wrapped bottles from Chambers Street. Never gave it a second thought.

+1