UPDATE: Auction purchase - wine beyond damaged

Tasting notes, varietals, grapes - anything related to wine
Joe Abruzzo
GCC Member
GCC Member

UPDATE: Auction purchase - wine beyond damaged

#1 Post by Joe Abruzzo »

I've been buying at auction for 20+ years, backfilling old favorites. I've purchased well over 200 bottles from Winebid, HDH, TCWC, Brentwood & recently Acker auction houses - can't recall a single bad bottle. Many of these purchases were wines 30, 40, 50 years old.

However, I opened this bottle last night and was shocked pouring this into the glass. I've never seen a (red) wine this color, even older wines 50+ years old. As in the photo, the color was light brown (not a hint of ruby/red). The fill was into the low neck and did show some slight seepage through the entire cork. Just wondering what could have happened to this wine that it could turn this color? I immediately opened the second bottle from the same auction lot and the color was much more in line with what I would expect. The second bottle was also damaged but not to the extent of this first bottle. Obviously both bottles were poorly stored and undrinkable.
Click to see spoiler:
The wine: 1996 Chateau St. Jean Cinq Cepages
First Bottle
Image (2).jpeg
Second Bottle
Image (3).jpeg
Last edited by Joe Abruzzo on January 15th, 2021, 7:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Jorge Henriquez
<dfn>Moderator</dfn>

Re: Auction purchase - wine beyond damaged

#2 Post by Jorge Henriquez »

That looks terrible. If the auction house has a shred of interest in keeping you as a customer and their reputation intact, they should refund you immediately.
Cohort Numero Uno!
"I'm a bowl of excitement, bitch!" TMF 08/13/10

Andrew K.
Monopole Crü
Monopole Crü

#3 Post by Andrew K. »

Just looks oxidized. I think you've just been lucky previously to never have encountered a wine like this.
к𝓁ย𝐠

ybarselah

#4 Post by ybarselah »