UPDATE: Auction purchase - wine beyond damaged

I’ve been buying at auction for 20+ years, backfilling old favorites. I’ve purchased well over 200 bottles from Winebid, HDH, TCWC, Brentwood & recently Acker auction houses - can’t recall a single bad bottle. Many of these purchases were wines 30, 40, 50 years old.

However, I opened this bottle last night and was shocked pouring this into the glass. I’ve never seen a (red) wine this color, even older wines 50+ years old. As in the photo, the color was light brown (not a hint of ruby/red). The fill was into the low neck and did show some slight seepage through the entire cork. Just wondering what could have happened to this wine that it could turn this color? I immediately opened the second bottle from the same auction lot and the color was much more in line with what I would expect. The second bottle was also damaged but not to the extent of this first bottle. Obviously both bottles were poorly stored and undrinkable.
The wine: 1996 Chateau St. Jean Cinq CepagesFirst Bottle
Image (2).jpeg
Second Bottle
Image (3).jpeg

That looks terrible. If the auction house has a shred of interest in keeping you as a customer and their reputation intact, they should refund you immediately.

Just looks oxidized. I think you’ve just been lucky previously to never have encountered a wine like this.

this is my takeaway. i suppose you can reach out and ask for a credit or something. I’m not typically a superstitious dude, but this feels like you may not want to jinx the wine gods.

Quick question - did you slow ox it and recheck the wine later? I’ve found that many of these wines ‘come back’ after being revived with a bit of oxygen. May seem ‘counter-intuitive’ but it has often happened.

Also, you give no mention of the wine or the age of the wine - nor show the bottle or cork. All of this would be helpful to know / see.

Cheers.