Let's talk Riesling from the Nahe region.

Hi All. Many of you know I am a Riesling fan and somewhat new to the wine journey. I have been drinking wine for 15+ years, but have really started a cellar in the last year. I have a fairly in-depth collection of Rieslings from the Mosel area (mainly Joh Jos Prum) and have been tasting those over the past year. However, I would like to continue my journey and venture into the Nahe region. I have heard good things about Donnhoff, Shafer-Frohlich, Emrich-Shonleber, and others. I have done a search and read a number of prior topics and google searches/videos, but would love to hear from the Riesling experts on here. Here are just a few topics/questions:

1. How does Riesling from the Nahe compare generally to Riesling from Mosel?
  2. What would your suggestion be for a range of Nahe wines to purchase?

To be honest I would really just like to hear everyone’s opinions/thoughts on the Nahe region, it’s wines, and how it compares to Mosel. Thanks in advance for sharing your expertise and helping me in my journey. I know the only true expertise can come from tasting, but I would love to hear from those who have trekked before me. I look forward to trying more wines from this region this year. I have been very interested in Donnhoff and have been reading about them so if you had to recommend one or two bottles of Donnhoff to try what would they be? Thanks again!

There are Riesling lovers here the likes of which you won’t find anywhere else. You’ve come to the right place.

2 Likes

The Nahe is fairly easy to learn. You really only need to know three producers Emrich-Schonleber, Schafer-Frohlich and Donnhoff. And maybe Schlossgut Diel.

The wines are riper than the Mosel with a slightly different fruit profile.

I love the Nahe.

3 Likes