What producer do you have the most bottles of that you haven't tried yet?

Last night I opened a very good 2014 Berthaut Gerbet Fixin Les Crais - immediately the nose had all kind of floral notes, and the taste - muted and dissolute at first - came together after an hour to provide a wonderfully spicy, complex experience that on night two really went into overtime. Good persistence, right in the center of the earthy vs. ethereal spectrum. And when I was a couple of sips in, I wondered when I’d last had a Berthaut Gerbet – I have 24 bottles of it representing 6 vintages and 8 cuvées - and the answer turned out to be NEVER. Somehow I have been buying this wine for three years and backfilling too without having cracked a bottle to make sure I actually, y’know, liked it.
So: whew. I like it. A lot. I lean on some smart critics and tasters to suggest what I should explore, but this is the most crazy example in my cellar of something I went deep into before tasting it. Made me wonder if other people have done similar stuff or not. Is there a well-represented producer in your cellar you haven’t tried yet?

Several cases of LMHB 2005 and LLC 2000.

Andremily, but I’m fixing that on Thursday :slight_smile:

1 Like

Soliste. I have 18 bottles, based on recommendations from this forum, and I have yet to try one.
Now that I’m thinking of it, I should set one out to open For Thanksgiving.

Huh, that’s an interesting one. Had to think a bit about it but turns out it’s Carter. I have 28 bottles but am waiting on them for another few years. I probably won’t be buying much if any from them as I’m ramping down on those types of wines.

biggest 7 bottles of Lillian, but I have had many Antica Terra and a Coriolis. Guess that’s not too bad.

I was just wondering this same question recently. Until last week it was Grand Puy Lacoste with 18 bottles, but I just had the wonderful 2000.