winereactionsarethenewtrend - 49er super bowl run edition

sated and given the plethora of french wines, duly soporifique!
all wines track within the usual 91-96 cellartracker range unless otherwise marked.

25 November : 2002 Lafarge Clos des Chênes
delightful mix of mature but still vibrant big fruited and rural Lafarge complex power. balanced but could still lay away for further softening of the tannins and resolve some of the sweetness. one of the best 2002 Burgundies I have had, a vintage that we often remark upon as simple and too rich for their own good, but recall that we are Lafarge fanboysandgirls.

23 November : 2002 Huet Vouvray Demi-Sec Clos du Bourg
yes, oxidized to the hilt today, 3 days after a glorious experience on the denoted day of initial consumption. Even Wife remarked how perfect it was upon initial sampling. incredible balance. truly seamless. striking orange color with mild honey and appley / peary / citrusy fruit (although i am not good with fruit flavors). sweetness present but again no component speaking out of turn. marvelous wine even despite being prematurely oxidized by the 26th but no oxidation hints on the 23rd. mayhap the best demi-sec ever.

20 November : 1991 Gentaz-Dervieux Cuvée Réservée Côte Brune
downed with alacrity along with our 3 month ripened duck leg confit. really really good. silky smooth and urbane but powerful fruit asserting itself as if to say i might be a bit long in the tooth but i still pack a punch. the 1988 is my Broadbent 6 star wine, but this is easily 4 star and probably really 5 star as one has so much expectation when opening your last Gentaz with friends (sorry Brad).