Napa / Sonoma Trip Help

We’re looking at heading to Napa/Sonoma to celebrate my 35th on 4/21 and I was hoping I might be able to get some insight on wineries. Sunday morning on the 24th I’m holding for Bedrock before we fly out.

Syrah
I love both the Halcon Alturas and Stolpman Estate (and Twenty). We enjoyed a Pax Griffin’s Lair a couple of years back and though a tasting there might be interesting. Arnot Roberts, Ridge, and Jolie Laide were others to try not just for syrah, but also zin, cab, and gamay. I think we should max at 3 tastings, currently leaning towards Pax-Arnot-Ridge. Very open to suggestions, my knowledge of the region is pretty limited.

Cabernet Sauvignon
I have limited experience with cab and would appreciate some help. I love the 2015 Saunter ESV and have a couple of the 2016s I haven’t tried yet, but they don’t seem to do tastings from what I can find. I’ve also enjoyed Immortal Estate’s Slope cab and the Wine Access Concept Album which I believe was based on that. I enjoyed the de Negoce 25 off Spring Mountain, but I’m not sure how indicative that is of the area. We very rarely enter into the $100+/bottle range, so starting bottles in the $60ish range would be much appreciated but would want to try at higher price points as well (edited).

TIA!

3 Likes

Frog’s Leap is a great place to taste many varietals including ~$60 cab (among the best out there). Also if they waive tasting fees for joining their club (which they prob do - club members get free tastings, so the inverse should probably be true? - the club is actually a good one IMO. You get library vintages regularly and a few bottlings are club only (including an excellent cab franc).

1 Like

Consider visiting Unti for Rhones and Italian varieties including Zin. Low key tasting is only $25, refunded with purchase.

https://www.untivineyards.com

Robert

1 Like

At $60/bottle you will be much more successful in Sonoma. Some suggestions:

Smith Story
Sixteen 600
Sojourn
Abbot’s Passage