Vice Versa Fall Offering

I received the save the date from VV earlier today for the Fall allocation which will be released on 8/9. I’ve yet to have the opportunity to try any of their previous vintages but have heard good things. Will most likely just take the 2019 Cab I’m offered since I’m new to their list. Also, they had a slight name change for said Cab to “Spinning Plates.” Unsure of the background behind this. If anyone has anymore input on their current style, would be much appreciated!

I will be in for this offering for sure, as long as they don’t jack up the pricing too badly. I last bought the 2016 Napa blend and I think it was around $150/per.

Made by Phillippe Melka, this is a modern styled wine. Not sure of the vineyard sources since they keep it tightly guarded, but its serious juice.

If you can get your hands on their Las Piedras, I would do so. A higher entry point, but its worth it, imo.

2 Likes

Good to know. I appreciate the insight! I recently snagged 3x Fait Main LPV as well and loved the single bottle I’ve opened so far. I’ll definitely look to grab the VV LPV if offered but not sure how their allocation works. Would love to compare and contrast.

Did a tasting with them in December while in Napa. Fantastic hospitality. Wines are great quality and are definitely more modern Napa. They use the usual famous Napa vineyards that everyone accesses these days. The Napa blend is definitely a serious bottle, I believe this was $165 last year, so hopefully they don’t go up and price me out.

2 Likes

VV will only be offering the 19 spinning plates to my knowledge.

3 Likes

I did a tasting in May. I was able to order 2021’s at that time. Tasted through a decent amount of 2018 and 2019s. Very nice wines. I picked up 2x Las Piedras, Dr Crane and To Kalon of 2021s and 2x 2018 GIII ($225), 2x 2019 Mysterions ($250). At $300 per for 2021, a special occasion wine. Gonna need to tapper back on these Beckstoffer wines as they are pricing me out.

2 Likes