Next Big Thing

I’d like to poll the group and see which winery you think is the best up and coming winery from the West Coast that deserves all of our attention. I am partial to the pinot/syrah producers, but would be curious to hear any and all responses.

I am fairly new to WineBerskers and have learned a lot about wineries I wouldn’t have normally heard about, most recently Samsara, which is freakin delicious, especially their rose WOW! I am on a few mailing lists (Rhys, Peay, Anthill, Samsara, Ojai, Copain, Cayuse) and am wait-listed on a bunch more, but would like to get in before having to wait a long time to purchase. I.E., Carlisle. which I love, but have been waiting…

So, please share with me your thoughts. I greatly appreciate them!

Bedrock…structured wines that will improve with age and are picked at reasonable brix levels, great vineyard sources and plenty of choices across a wide spectrum of varietals. Oh yeah…the pricing makes these great QPR wines.

I hear that Saxum might make some decent juice. newhere

You’re on some good lists already. The only ones I would add (if you’re not already wait listed) is Rivers-Marie and Kutch.

And Burgundy. flirtysmile

Thanks Russ and Joe. I’ve been wanting to try Bedrock, so will give that a whirl. Saxum is one of the big guys in my books and has a waiting list. I just got on Rivers, but will look into Kutch.

Not necessarily “up and coming”, but some from California that I’m partial to for pinots and rhone varietals not on your list include Lagier Meredith, Tercero, Beckmen, Arnot Roberts, Littorai, Varner, Thackrey, and Heron Lake (Miss Olivia Brion). Cheers!

Not sure if this is a request for nominations of quality wine or for predictions on who is going to be the next hard-to-get worshipped bulletin-board darling, but if it’s the former I’d certainly recommend Clos Saron to any fan of Rhys, Copain, and Anthill.