Anthill 2011 Release

I received the offer for the 2011 Anthill fall release. I’ve never had any of these wines, but seeking board advice as I’ve seen good reviews. Wines offered appear to be:

• Anderson Valley appellation PN
  • Mendocino County PN (Abbey-Harris, Comptche Ridge, Demuth)

Thoughts?

I haven’t tasted their 2011’s, but all of these should be good wines. In my experience, these are their top three SV Pinots. And there wasn’t a major fire in Anderson Valley in 2011, so the appellation pinot should be good, too. [stirthepothal.gif]

Anthill Farms is on the lighter side of CA Pinot. I like them.

This was my first offer from them and I absolutely can’t buy. I really wanted to try them. :frowning:

I’m going to be disappointed to miss this one, but I’ve been buying from them for 5 years or so, and hopefully they’ll be cool about me skipping one.

The wines are typically lovely. Light red fruited and feminine, much more about elegance and finesse than either ripeness/power or funkiness/rusticity. One other thing to recommend them is that I can’t think of another California pinot that is very similar to them; they seem to have staked out a unique spot on the style spectrum. (Though of course I haven’t tasted everything out there)

They seem like they should probably age well, but there isn’t really a track record yet, and frankly they always seem to drink well right from the start.

I think their pricing is on the fairer side for California pinot of that quality, with SVDs still mostly under $50.

Happy exploring.

LOVE their Anderson Valley SVD. can’t go wrong with what they do with their AV fruit as long as its not from 2008. Zing.

Find their AV offerings to be the most enjoyable, most nuanced.

Syrah! Hooray!!!

Thanks gents for your feedback. These guys sound like they’re worth a shot. I’m still trying to figure out how much I really like PN’s - still eager to explore.