difference between "ageable" and not

I am BRAND new to wine (outside of splurging $20 once in a while for an organic Nero D’Avola that is my favorite). But I’m considering beginning a 400-500 bottle cellar soon and have a couple of questions.

1. What exactly is it about a particular wine that allows it to age for 50 years while another will go bad after two? My “newbie brain” says, 'hey, it’s grape juice. sure the dirt might have more nutrients, and there might’ve been more sun one year than the next, but how can one batch of grape juice be mature in a year, go bad in 2 years while another can sit for half a century?"

2. Does anyone have a recommendation for a cooler? Let’s say I’d like to keep it $2,500 or less, as many bottles as possible for that range. Forgive me I haven’t done my research into these very much. I know they have “single and dual” zone which I assume is the slight difference in ideal temps for reds and whites.

3. If I decide I have to have some of the “big guns” … where are the best online or other resources? What sources should I stay away from? Can I buy direct from Berry Brothers in London or should I stick here in the US somewhere?

I think that’s it for now. I’m resisting … my palete right now is perfectly happy with many grocery store $5-$7 per bottle cabs etc. with a splurge on a $20 once in a while…but I’ve got the bug, or at least the start of it … I definitely see myself with a 500 - 1000 bottle cellar in the next few years…

Some partial answers…

1. Most people say that, in order to keep, a wine must have tannins or acidity. And to age well it must also have good fruit initially. Personal preference is also very important in deciding when best to drink a wine.