Wine guides

Hello experts, I searched this topic around here but couldn’t find a thread (forgive me if I missed one). Wondering if you could discuss the usefullness of annual wine guides (Hachette, Cernilli aka Doctor Vino, etc.). I do not sell wine for a living, nor do I purchase hundreds of bottles a year (yet :stuck_out_tongue:), so I’ve been wondering about its utility to me (my vantage point is a consumer who’s also an avid ‘student of wine’), especially since they are updated every year.

When I lived in Italy, I would follow the Gambero Rosso guide annually to follow the current wine scene. But they tend to give more a moment in time rather than a broad overview.

For me Hugh Johnson Pocket wine guide does the trick. (Although it’s many years since it’s really fit in a pocket!).

What do you use it for? That’s what I was wondering about, if I’m learning about wine, what does the guide give me? In other words, is it an educational tool or really just a consumer tool?

A difficult question to answer, as although I have bought a good many over the years, they can be too easy to rely on, and they risk us trusting them over our own palate.

What they tend to tell you, is who the established names are in a region. Some fine under the radar producers never get a mention, whilst others trading on historic reputation continue to get a mention.

It is interesting to read opinions, and better to get a balance of opinions. The glory years of Robert Parker were when people slavishly followed hkis every score, believing his was the greatest palate and ignoring their own. The field is a little wider now, but the same sheeplike following still exists across a range of critics.