Per glass pricing for smaller wineries...

So a restaurant/winebar tends to want to buy the bottle from you as a producer for the same amount they can sell one glass for. So, in most cases that’s around $10-16/glass. For many smaller wineries this is at best break-even pricing for a bottle, maybe even a loss when you consider transport etc. But, it does get people to try the wines and might lead to people buying the wines down the line.

So, from some other producers I gather they see this as marketing cost. My question to the producers here: how much do you allocate to this? A very small amount or quite a lot? What have the results been - did it generate DTC/mailing list/wine club customers?

I am far from an expert on this, but I will happily share my results.

I don’t discount more than 5-10% to get BTG sales. There is one resort at which BTG sales has gotten me quite a few winery visits. I do believe that the other BTG programs build loyalty, but that is hard to measure.

Hope that helps.

Thank you Andrew. So, you discount an additional 5-10% on top of what you sell to distr/retailer for?

My discount is off of the wholesale price which is 2/3 of winery retail. I do not offer the discount on wines that are sure to sell out that season. I currently do not sell to a distributor.

I think it’s worth bending a bit if you’re not a well-known label. I think people will take a flyer with BTG wines that they might not on full bottles. And you hope some direct to consumer sales result.
Assuming it’s a 3 case or more drop, I knock 10% off the wholesale price. During a glut, that can be a non-competitive discount though. Wines that retail for twice what mine do will get slashed below mine for BTG just to move boxes in a not-so-obviously-discounted way.

Selling wines at or below cost with the hopes of gaining DTC customers is not a good strategy. If you want to get some BTG placements (which can help in other ways), find spots where you can still make it work out $ wise.