Reported vs true abv

I know this is a topic that people can be understandably cagey about but, if people are willing to share, I’m interested in philosophies about wine labelling regarding alcohol.

I work in a lab that analyses wines. Many of the wines we see are unfinished or otherwise not yet bottled, but we do get some wines that are bottled and labelled, so when we run the alcohol analyses we see the extent to which people are labelling accurately or utilizing the +/- leeway in abv labelling that is legally permitted.

It seems like there are lots of reasons people make choices about how to label their wines and I’m curious to hear from anyone in this community who has a perspective on this. I know some people label as accurately as possible because they want the consumer to know what they are drinking. Some people label somewhere in the middle of their year-on-year variation for a bottling to reduce label changes between vintages. Some people label high-alcohol wines as low-abv as possible to avoid putting people off. And I know some people choose to label the alcohol content according to how it feels sensorily - say you produce a 15% wine but it tastes to you more like what you think of when you see 14.3%. I see valid reasons for all of these choices and more, and it’s interesting to see how it varies between varieties, price points, and individual producers.

Any thoughts on this from anyone here in production or marketing?

As a consumer, I wish they would label it as accurately as they could. I’ll give leeway for labeling a 15% as 14.9% if it tastes more like a 14er, but that’s the extent of what they should do.

We try to remain within close approximations.

A Pinot label at 14.8% does look a hell of a lot better than one labeled at 15.2% though. :wink:

±0.5 is the legal norm here so we try to use the closest round 0.5