Vivino rant

Anyone else in retail have experience with this: a customer asks for advice, you walk them through options, and then they go with Vinino’s opinion instead. I’m not opposed to polling the public on wine, or Vivino as a resource, sure. (I do think notes on CellarTracker are generally better.) What drives me nuts, though, is the people that will pull their phone out and make a big deal about checking Vivino while you’re standing there after having spent time walking them through options. One particular customer was between two wines that I have a lot of experience with, so I suggested the one that would better match the style he wanted. While I was in the middle of ringing him up, he whipped out his phone and told me he was going to check Vivino. I had the pleasure of awkwardly waiting while he scrolled through the app until he found the wines. He let me know the item I did not suggest had the higher Vivino score, so he was going to go with that. [head-bang.gif]

Happened to me pretty often back when I worked in wine retail. It’s pretty common amongst younger, more inexperienced wine drinkers. Vivino serves a similar purpose to the Robert-Parker-style points system. When in fear or doubt, it’s much easier to rely on the largest number to make the buying decision for you.

Consumers in general are lemmings . . .

Cheers.

2 Likes

I find this to be completely rational behavior. It’s the expert provider dilemma - the person advising on how to solve a problem is also selling that solution. doctors, mechanics, plumbers, etc., all deal with this.

You just can’t take it personally.

1 Like

lol you must be new to retail. I remember when they’d bring in the weekly NYT article they cut out and ask for every wine in it, and not take my recommendations for comparable things that were actually available locally.

As long as they’re spending money … [cheers.gif]