BBQ Short Ribs for Dummies...

First off, I’m not an expert bbq-er…don’t have the fancy rigs, or the time to slow smoke something all day. I want to smoke some bone in beef short ribs, but don’t have the time, or a smoker that can keep optimal temp, to smoke them for 5hrs. So…what I was thinking about doing is a dry rub overnight, then smoked(charcoal/wood) for a couple hours, probably at 350 down to 250…again…I have hard time keeping the temp…indirect heat with a drip pan of water underneath. Then after a couple hrs or so, put them in an aluminum tray and wrap with foil…put in oven at what 200?..for another 1-2hrs? Will this work? Will I still get that good smoked bark, as well as the tenderness? What about the reverse…oven first, then smoked? Or…just suck it up and smoke for the 5hrs…it’s the only way for great bbq?

What are some of your expert tips here?

[cheers.gif]

3/2/1 method is full proof. Smoke for 3 hours at 250, wrap for 2 at 250, then sauce on grill at 250 for as long as it takes to get the color you want. They will be fall off the bone tender.

When I wrap I put them meat side down and some butter and apple juice in the package for moisture.

BBQ short ribs are the only thing I can do consistently and perfectly on my big green egg. Marinate overnight in Roy choy’s kalbi marinade (Sweet-and-Salty Korean Barbecued Short Ribs Recipe - Roy Choi). Then on indirect heat at 225 for about 6 hours until temp hits 200. Wrap in butcher paper and a towel in the cooler until ready to eat, then put them back on the grill with some fresh marinade for a few minutes. I use the full long dino ribs and they don’t seem to dry out enough to necessitate wrapping

This is your friend, no need for a dedicated smoker. Add smoke to any food while grilling.

https://www.amazon.com/MAZE-N-OET-0002-Expanding-Smoker-Silver/dp/B00QMJPBDY/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=amazen&qid=1592686347&s=lawn-garden&sr=1-2