Making bacon at home

I would appreciate any thoughts or favorite recipes .

I thought this was a revival of that NSFW sub-forum.

I’ve been doing this for a couple of years because, once you’ve done it, you don’t want store bought bacon again, at least my wife doesn’t.

Cure your pork belly for a week in the fridge. Use prague powder #1, salt and any other seasonings you like. You can use pepper, sugar, brown sugar, anything you like. There are plenty of recipes online. I go pretty basic. Prague powder, salt, garlic salt, brown sugar, pepper. The amount of seasoning you use will be determined by the size of the pork belly. I have 3 gallon zip-lock bags. They hold a whole pork belly.

After it has spent a week in your fridge with the dry rub on, smoke it. Again, hickory, apple, whatever kind of wood you like. Experiment. We like hickory.

Smoke it at 225 for 2.5 hours. You don’t need to “cook” it in the traditional sense. You’re going to cook it on the stove top later.

Let it cool and then put it back in the fridge for a day.

Break out your slicer and have at it. Cut it however you like, thick or thin. We package the bacon into roughly 6 ounce seal-a-meal packages and store them in the freezer. We tend to cut off the ends and maybe some other imperfect parts and store them for use like salt pork. They can be used for anything from baked beans to lardons for beef bourguinon.

Good luck.

1 Like

Put aluminum foil on cookie sheet. Put bacon on aluminum foil. Bake at 400 degrees until its as crispy as you want. May have to flip one time. Best way I’ve found to cook bacon and no mess.

I just did this and it turned out well. Combined learnings from a few YouTube videos and then just went for it.

1. Ordered a pork belly from Tails and Trotters. Based in Portland and they’ll ship to you (given WA state) for $25. Toss in some pork chops while you’re at it, but be careful with the ribs.