Super Bowl Food

Saw a thread in Wine Talk about SB wine. But, what about your food plans?

We are doing homemade pizzas and wings. Trying the convection oven for the wings.

Anyone have tips on oven wings?

Use a cooling rack to elevate the wings in the oven. Their hovering power has diminished.

I bought a box of frozen Hebrew National pigs in blanket. It’s loaded with fat, calories, and an unhealthy amount of sodium. Gonna be a fun night. Since my wife let me buy this, I’m also ordering nachos from a local Mexican restaurant. [winner.gif]

Real pork?

I’ve been using this recipe for chicken wings a few years now. Simple and easy. I make a very large batch and leave them in the marinate and then just keep cooking them in batches as the the need arises throughout the evening. Plus one on Victor’s suggestion on using a cooking rack. Essential for crispy wings

Homemade pigs in a blanket
Nachos
Cauliflower Buffalo “wings”
Guacamole
Pan con Tomate

Steam the wings first.

My plan for the wings is similar to what Kenji wrote on serious eats. Trim to drumettes, dry, let sit in refrigerator for a few hours, toss with baking powder and seasoning. Bake for 30 minutes in convection oven on rack set in a sheet. Flip and bake another 30 minutes. Then sauce after done baking.

Dry brining now. Oven fry and sauce later. Nachos too
20210207_110642.jpg

I’ve got my wings in the sous vide right now. Will flash fry them later. That’s my second favorite preparation. I made them once in a Korean style from an ATK recipe once. Lots of work but they were amazing.

Smoking wings w applewood @250 then crisping in the oven at 450 for a few minutes.
They have been dry brining in creole rub and baking powder so it doesn’t take long.
Serving w a Crystal Buffalo sauce with and without ranch mixed in.

KENJI KENJI KENJI …

Just dry them, and then drench them in some baking powder and salt overnight. Then, bake.

Pigs in a blanket
Poke
Toasted ravioli

Probably sip on some tequila - Avion 44