Raleigh Durham Foodies Help!

Heading down in early February to visit my little brother at Duke. Never been down to the area, and hear there is lots of great food. Only there for two nights, so what are my must stops? Would love to do BBQ one night and something else great the other. HELP PLEASE!!!

Thanks!

I graduated from Duke a few years ago and try to get down there about once a year. For BBQ, my favorite is Allen and Son in Chapel Hill. I would avoid Bullock’s in Durham - I’ve never had a good experience. Also had a good experience with The Pit in Raleigh, but it wasn’t as good the second time I went. Allen and Son is a classic and the best in that region IMO (had some good experiences further east in NC, but too far away from the Triangle).

For other dining, I’m a big fan of Magnolia Grill in Durham, which is just off East Campus. Andrea Reusing has been getting great press for Lantern in Chapel Hill, but I had a really disappointing meal there around this time last year. I always stop by Cook-Out when I’m down there for a burger and shake (your brother has to be familiar with this place for late night dining runs).

If you have a chance, definitely do the drive through at sunrise biscuit kitchen for breakfast in Chapel Hill - crave those biscuits all the time now that I live further north. Scratch bakery had some good pie in downtown Durham when I was there last year.

Try to get in a basketball game in Cameron if you have a chance.

I went to Law school at Duke and I haven’t been back in a long time. The Angus Barn was a great steak house and surprisingly had an excellent wine list.