growing tired of nespresso

i have an espresso every morning before leaving the house. i have been using nespresso machines for about 6-8 years but have grown tired of the taste, even when i switch up the flavors regularly.
in order to make real espresso, like what i get in a great coffee place, what’s the minimum equipment i need?
i’m not spending 3k, but i would like something easy to use and clean.

thanks

well, if you want what you get in a great coffee place, you need that equipment plus a lot of barrista experience. so you cannot replicate that at home. those la marzocco strada machines that are popping up everywhere are very expensive because they are worth it ($18,000).

however, you can achieve a product that is orders of magnitude better than nespresso with some fairly reasonably priced equipment. this is what i recommend as the absolute minimum for anyone serious about making proper espresso at home.

Rancilio Silvia machine paired with Rancilio Rocky doserless grinder. you can get this setup for just under $1,000.

you’ll need to spend at least $1,000 on the machine to get to the next level.

hope this helps…

aeropress
or mokapot

Not “true” espresso, but it’s close. Cheap too. Find them on amazon.

Aeropress is not really espresso at all, but it’s the cleanest cup of coffee you’ll ever have!

+/- $20 otd.

A silvia and rocky as Yaacov suggested is really the best entry level setup for home espresso. It still takes plenty of tinkering to get good drinks out of that setup but after you get the hang of it, you can make better drinks than the average coffee shop.

i’m not sure i want to get the hang of something as i’m not too good at things that take much patience. are there fully automatic machines?

Yup. They suck. If a good one existed, Starbucks would be able to make decent coffee.