Amalfi in March

Our family (wife, me, teen girl, and teen boy) are headed to the Amalfi Coast in March.

We like to hike, eat, drink (the adults), and do some sight seeing. This will be for 3-4 days after staying in Rome for 3-4 days.

I have zero experience and am trying to get a handle on what there is to do, how difficult movement along the coast will be, how ‘closed for the off-season’ it will be, and whatever else I don’t know.

I want to avoid spending hours on end driving along zig-zagging roads covering ground unnecessarily.

Please hit me with your best “do’s and don’ts”. Your help is very much appreciated.

I can’t vouch for weather or what is open, but I’d check out Capri first. Wouldn’t need a car, plenty of hikes and if open, great food.

Of course Positano is also lovely but many, many, many steps up and down.

Tons of useful tips on the uk wine pages site…

A stop at Pompeii or Herculeum combined with a trip through the history museum in Naples would be high on my list if you can wing it, but I love history.

Ravello is small and may be hard to get to without a car, but it was our favorite place on the coast. Cumpa Cosimo is a great restaurant there and the owner is a hoot. There might be some other threads on here mentioning her.

La Tre Sorelle in Positano is great as well, if they are open. Had one of my best meals ever there.

If you are a hiker, Path of the Gods is a must. It goes along the ridge line on the coast and is magnificent.

Photos are Ravello and Path of the Gods.
CDF90B51-5566-4BD5-9C32-FCD92D144EAA.jpeg
4B3334BA-809B-4027-94BC-8E678A428AA6.jpeg
6C038014-6F75-49F6-8C19-CE92877372D0.jpeg
AD9B0B28-8A04-4E4B-9FE0-F29318DA6D66.jpeg

There is also a great hike out the back of Amalfi. It goes past old paper mills from hundreds of years ago when Amalfi was the center of fine paper production. I think it’s called Valley of the Mills.
1043112A-2CD6-4530-A51E-7C0AA3A8CE6B.jpeg