Recommendations on Willamette Valley - Mix of old and new world style wines

Hello,

Looking for some recommendations on a trip to Willamette. I was reading that its better to go further south out of PDX to escape the hoards of people visiting on day trips. Looking for a good mix of new world and burgundian style wines. Lodging and restaurant recos would be an added bonus.

I found a few threads but it looked like they were focused on the northern areas: Yamhill, Dundee, Chehalem.

Convince me otherwise about north side of valley.

Thank you.

I’m no expert but there certainly weren’t hoards of people a few years ago when I was in McMinnville in July…there was a bunch of good wine and food, though.

thank you.

Gene, with the whole COVID thing going on, almost all the wineries are by appointment only. In addition, if you stay in McMinnville and focus on wineries toward Carlton or the Eola Hills, you won’t see any of the hordes.

The restaurant scene in McMinnville isn’t back to full strength quite yet (I don’t think Thistle is back open and Valley Commissary is permanently closed), but there are a number of good options. La Rambla for Spanish-style food, Pura Vida for Central American, Pizza Capo is very good, Nick’s Italian Cafe is back open, as is Bistro Maison. Community Plate has very good breakfasts and lunches. The city closes Third St (the main drag where all the restaurants are) every weekend for the summer, so there are lots of outdoor dining options. Another place with a nice vibe and a few food carts in Mac Market out in the Granary District. It’s close to most of the wineries (and breweries) in town. People swear by Flag and Wire coffee out in the Granary District as well.