David Duband

Does anyone have experience with Domaine David Duband? I just had the 2021 Bourgogne at a restaurant in Rochester, MN. I had never heard of it but I really enjoyed the wine. The reviews that I can find are pretty lukewarm but he does have parcels in some GC vineyards. I would like to get further feedback before I jump in on his higher end stuff based on one glass, albeit a fantastic first experience.

i had a clos sorbe morey saint denis last fallā€¦i believe 2019 so obviously young. it feltā€¦fine? maybe hard to judge due to the youth but generally, these wines are discounted for a reason. theyre fine but certainly not the standard for the region.

Hi Ryan - I have some experience with Duband GC ( most recently with a Clos de la Roche). I know Duband is often aggressively touted as ā€œvalueā€ Burgundy ā€” and I find the wines enjoyable but, at GC levels, not fully expressive of the specific traits and qualities of the best producers. I think youā€™ve lucked out with a Bourgogne ; speaking for myself I would stick to Bourgogne and villages level wines with Duband and youā€™ll get a decent bottle of burg for a reasonable price ā€” not the easiest feat these days. At higher levels I donā€™t really think youā€™re getting quite the bargain thatā€™s often touted.

Ahh, David Duband. Some old timers will tell you he isnā€™t doing nearly as well with his best vineyards as did his predecessor, Jacky Truchot.

Jacky Truchotā€™s wines were made in a decidedly older fashion, but had a brilliance about them. But they are definitely marmite wines, meaning you either love the style or hate it, there is little in between.

But at least Truchotā€™s wines had character and distinctiveness. Iā€™m told Dubandā€™s wines have improved in recent years, and Iā€™ll be honest that I havenā€™t had them recently. But those Iā€™ve tried have been bland, having little to say about their site, or even their maker.