Napa/Sonoma Vineyard Offerings - Where to Start?

Hi All - Newbie here! My wife and I made two trips to the Napa area from the East Coast over the last ~6 years (the first we had no idea what we were doing; the second we were committed to/have gotten more serious about our wine). We gravitated to the medium/small/family wineries and had great trips each time - can’t wait to go back!

One of our more memorable experiences was at Outpost - we enjoyed both the wine and the hospitality/setting, shipping back some Cabs and Zinfandels ('17/'18s - still in our fridge) and making a connection with our host. My joining/posting is prompted by Outpost’s recent offering announcement. We enjoyed what we drank there and plan to continue to support in some fashion, but our feeling was that this year’s prices (plus $$$ shipping!) were a little steep and feedback in this thread seemed to agree. Outpost offering out today. Any takers? . The price point specifically isn’t the issue but rather our takeaway from the thread was “decent, not worth the cost” - that said, we don’t have a ton to compare it to!

So I’m not looking for an Outpost-specific discussion here but rather tips for sourcing bottles to drink/store of a similar style and price point. Does anyone have any recommendations for resources to help out, vineyards to try or general comments? I realize this is a little open-ended but being 3000 miles away and staring at shipping costs we can’t just “try try try” and while we do have a few spots that we liked, know there is so much we haven’t tried. We have a couple well-curated wine shops in town - but would love to find some direct-to-consumer hidden gems.

I found the “Best under $300” thread and a couple others though we’re looking for something reliable more in the $75-150 range and also one without a (long) waitlist as it appeared many of the ones that were mentioned there have waitlists.